What Are The Indian Visa Ports Of Exit And What Do They Mean For Australians?

Are you an Australian citizen traveling to India and wondering about the visa ports of exit? Do you know what these are, or would you like to know more? This post breaks it down for you!


The INDIAN VISA PORTS OF EXIT are the ten ports of entry that India allows Australian citizens to enter and exit the country through. The list includes all of the major airports in India, as well as a few other smaller ports. Each port is designated with a letter: A, B, C, D, E.

The meaning of each letter is as follows:

A: Mumbai (Bombay)

B: Chennai (Kanchipuram)

C: Kochi (Cochin)

D: Hyderabad

E: Goa

What Is The Visa Port Issue?

In recent years, there has been an increase in the number of Australians travelling to India for holiday or work. This has led to an increase in the number of Australians seeking to enter and exit India through different ports of entry.

The Indian visa port issue is a complex one that centres around the fact that India does not have a single visa port for all foreign nationals wishing to enter or exit the country. Each foreign national must obtain a specific type of visa before travelling to India. As a result, there are currently eight different visa ports in operation in India.

The eight different visa ports of entry into India are as follows:

1) Mumbai airport – this is the main airport in Maharashtra and is used by tourists and businessmen travelling to and from Mumbai.

2) Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport – this is the main airport in Pune and is used by tourists and businessmen travelling to and from Mumbai.

3) Chennai airport – this is the main airport in Tamil Nadu and is used by tourists and businessmen travelling to and from Chennai. INDIAN VISA FOR AUSTRALIAN CITIZENS

4) Kolkata airport – this is the main airport in West Bengal and is used by tourists and businessmen travelling to and from

Types of Visa Ports Of Exit

A Visa Port Of Entry is an international border crossing point for citizens of different countries. The Visa Ports of Exit are the international airports on either side of the Canadian and Mexican borders.

The Visa Ports of Exit are an important part of the visa process for Australians travelling to Canada and Mexico.

The Canadian Visa Ports of Exit are Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal, Winnipeg and Edmonton. The Mexican Visa Ports of Exit are San Diego, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston and Dallas-Fort Worth.

How To Get Your Indian Visa Considered

There are a few Indian visa ports of exit that Australian citizens can use to get their visas approved. Although not all ports of entry are available to everyone, the following are the most common:

-Bangkok (Thailand)

-Karachi (Pakistan)

-New Delhi (India)

-Mumbai (India)

-Chennai (India)

Once you have determined which Indian visa port of exit you will be using, it is important to familiarize yourself with the requirements for obtaining a visa at that port. This includes reading the embassy or consulate website for specific information and filling out the appropriate application form. Be sure to provide all required documentation, including a passport photo, as well as your passport valid for at least six months after your intended departure from India.

If everything goes according to plan and you receive your visa approval letter in time, be sure to bring your passport and all other required documents when you arrive at the airport for your flight home.


Australians heading to India for tourism or business should be aware of the different visa ports of exit and what this means for them. This is especially important for those travelling on tourist visas, as some Indian states (like Goa) have a relaxed travel policy towards Australians and do not require a visa in most cases. For those travelling on other types of visas, it is important to check the requirements of the particular state or country that you are visiting.

Leave a Comment